Southern Athletics League – Newham – Sat 12 Jul 2014

With several key athletes competing elsewhere over the weekend, we struggled for numbers at the penultimate Southern Athletics League match at Newham on Saturday, and could only manage fourth place. However, club members showed great team spirit by competing outside their usual disciplines in order to boost the score, and in many cases performed close to their best.

For the men, Kema Egbunike equalled his PB when placing second in the 200m, while D’yon Christopher won the B race. Rowan Board improved his 400m record, and Joe Gilbert won the 800m B race. Mukhtar Farah delivered his best 1500m this season. In the 3000m, Steve Elson continued his rehabilitation, running close to his best for that distance, and track novice Rajesh Kumar sliced half a minute from his debut time. Tom Yates was also close to his best in the 3000m steeplechase. Hurdler Szymon Swigon had a busy afternoon. He not only won the 110m with a season’s best and clocked up a significant PB in the 400m, but he also performed well in the high, triple and long jumps, and turned his hand to discus. Team manager and veteran M60 Bob Densley competed in six events, pole-vaulting his best height in some years.

For the women, Tabita Botuli won the women’s 200m with a personal best. Sprinter Angelique Avery delivered her best high jump to date, while Besirat Tesfu equalled hers in the B string. Besirat also performed well in the long jump. Helen Leadbetter notched up valuable points by competing in four events, including her best pole vault for some years. Throws specialist Debbie McCaw won the hammer and threw a season’s best in the discus. Shim Amin also deserves a mention for her team spirit and versatility, covering five events.

Results summary


100m A: 3 Sean Buckeridge 11.6, B: 3 D’Yon Christopher 11.8; 200m A: 2 Kema Egbunike 22.8, B: D’yon Christopher  23.3; 400m: Rowan Board 54.4; 800m A: 2 Mukhtar Farah 2:03.8, B: 1 Joe Gilbert 2:04.6; 1500m A: 3 Mukhtar Farah 4:23.6 B: 3 Joe Gilbert 4:37.8; 3000m A: 4 Steve Elson 9:31.5, B: 4 Rajesh Kumar 10:39.7; 110mH: 1 Szymon Swigon 18.5; 400mH: 2 Szymon Swigon 62.8; 3000mSC A: 3 Tom Yates 11.25.9, B: 3 Rob Brown 11.40.9; HJ A: 4 Reiss Cyrille 1.55, B: 4 Szymon Swigon 1.55; PV: 4 Bob Densley 2.00; LJ A: 3 Joel Wynter 5.43, B: 3 Szymon Swigon 5.23; TJ A: 3 Szymon Swigon 10.57, B: 3 Bob Densley 5.74; SP A: 3 Desmond Ofasi  7.79, B: 3 Bob Densley 7.24; DT A: 4 Bob Densley 16.72, B: Szymon Swigon 15.22; HT A: 4 Bob Densley 18.48, B: 4 Joe Gilbert 6.08; JT A: 3 Bob Densley 18.25, B: 3 Reiss Cyrille 14.04


100m A: 3 Tabita Botuli 13.1, B: 2 Angelique Avery 13.9; 200m A: 1 Tabita Botuli 26.0, B: 3 Angelique Avery 28.7; 400m: 2 Shim Amin 70.4; 800m: 2 Erica Wallace 2:25.6; 100mH A: 3 Shim Amin 21.5; B: 3 Helen Leadbetter 23.5; 400mH: 2 Shim Amin 83.6; HJ A: 4 Angelique Avery 1.35, B: 4 Besirat Tesfu 1.30; PV: 2 Helen Leadbetter 2.60; LJ A: 4 Besirat Tesfu 4.55, B: 2 Helen Leadbetter 4:53; TJ A: 2 Besirat Tesfu 9.71, B: 3 Helen Leadbetter 8.01; SP A: 2 Debbie McCaw 9.97, B: 2 Tabita Botuli 7.71; DT A: 3 Debbie McCaw 29.83, B: 2 Shim Amin 15.87; HT A: 1 Debbie McCaw 45.54, B: 4 Shim Amin 6.42; JT A: 3 Debbie McCaw 23.97, B: 2 Besirat Tesfu 14.93

Non Scorers

100m: Desmond Ofasi 11.9, Reiss Cyrille 12.6


Full results can be found here