London Youth Games – Parliament Hill – Sat 14 Nov 2015

Twenty-four of our young athletes represented Ealing Borough at the London Youth Games at a wet and muddy Parliament Hill on Saturday. The squad was even larger than last year’s, meaning the club provided around half of the athletes running for Ealing. The photo left shows the U15 boys team.

The cross country competitions feature representatives from all 33 London borough teams, and Ealing finished eighth overall in the female races and 17th in the male races.

We sent five U17 women, who all ran well in the field of over 100. Nicola Ravenhill (12th) and Laura Stewart (23rd) helped the Ealing team to a fantastic third place, its best result of the day. In the U15 girls’ race, the club provided all three scorers, in the shape of Lucy O’Brien (26th), Cameron Thomas (58th) and Maryam Hussain (79th). The Borough team finished 15th. Fiona Coutts (103rd) was the only ESM representative in the U13 girls’ race, but acquitted herself well, finishing around halfway through the field.

In the men’s races, as with the women, Ealing fared best in the oldest age group, where the U17s finished 14th. Of the four representatives from ESM, George Kerry (35th) and Luke Adar (64th) made it into the scoring team. In the U15 and U13 races, we provided all the scoring runners. Naoki Kanai (47th), Jack Whittaker (80th) and Kane Foster (84th) were all across the line within half a minute of each other, bringing the Borough home in 20th. The U13 team of Dylan Rice (66th), Matteo Lamagna (79th) and Mikey Kouwiloyan (139th) were 22nd.

ESM results summary


U17: 35 George Kerry 19:16, 64 Luke Adar 20:08; 88 Matthew Lynch 21:03; 105 Reade Owen 22:00

U15: 47 Naoki Kanai 12:03; 80 Jack Whittaker 12:29; 84 Kane Foster 12:31; 94 Jonathan Martin 12:51; 116 Ilyes Iman 13:28; 129 Davide Lamagna 14:09

U13: 66 Dylan Rice 08:38; 79 Matteo Lamagna 08:46; 139 Mikey Kouwiloyan 09:39

U11: 17 Finn Combe 06:00


U17: 12 Nicola Ravenhill 12:40; 23 Laura Stewart 13:26; 39 Jessica Harbert 14:04; 51 Ellie Luxmoore 14:57; 77 Roisin Lynch 16:19

U15: 26 Lucy O’Brien 08:36; 58 Cameron Thomas 09:08; 79 Maryam Hussain 09:26; 112 Megan Rice 10:01

U13: 103 Fiona Coutts 09:48

Full results here