SEAA XC Champs – Parliament Hill – Sat 16 Feb 2013

ESM finished teams in five of the ten races at these rescheduled championships with the best result coming from the under-13 boys. John Fielding and Mukhtar Farah both finished 25th and Rob Wilson’s run of form continued with 44th place in the 9 miles senior men’s race.

Running through the mud for Ealing were:

Under-13 boys:  John Fielding (25th), George Kerry (54th), Hassan Ismail (96th) with Patrick Owen (108th) completing the scoring as the team finished tenth. Bradley Payne finished 180th.

Under-15 boys:   Mukhtar Farah (25th), Rashid Riyad (51st), Conor McCarthy (159th) and Jamie Cox (162nd) were the scorers ahead of Karolis Narvilas who was 190th. The team finished 15th.

Under-13 girls:  Nicola Ravenhill (109th), Roisin Lynch (120th), Laura Stewart (134th) and Maryam Hussain (142nd) all came home within the space of 35 seconds to finish as 19th team. Leah Kelly (185th) and Sarah Freegard (203rd) were the non-scorers.

Incomplete teams:  Olivia Will finished 55th in the under-17 women’s race ahead of sister Katrina (78th) and Josie Elliott (80th). Courtney Marshall (85th) & Millie Atherton (154th) ran in the under-15 girls race, Sam McGonigle (74th) & Zephon Allen (79th) ran in the under-17 men’s race and Mark Cameron (68th) & Akira Anzai-Jackson (81st) were our runners in the under-20 men’s race .

Senior women:  Christine Meek led the way in 108th place ahead of Gill Morgan who worked her way through the field for 141st. Carol Jones was 145th and with Jane Ruhland completing the scoring in 148th place, they ended up 15th team. Nikki Baker (167th) and Mary Walsh (184th) were their non-scorers.

Senior men:  just one week after his PB in the Wokingham Half Marathon, Rob Wilson produced another fine performance to finish 44th and was followed home by veterans Rob Brown (197th) and Angelo John (214th). Jon Ellis was next in 315th place ahead of Eamon Bradley (400th) and final scorer Ian Leslie (415th). Keith Freegard (475th) and Gary Stringer (492nd) also completed the 15 km course and the team finished in 20th place.


The photo, by Lynn Wilson, shows Aldershot’s Pidgeon and Partridge leading the way in the senior women’s race.