Ealing Southall & Middlesex A.C. (‘ESM’) Road Racing Championship

1. Aim
A. To create an annual ESM road racing championship comprising races at distances from one mile up to half marathon.
B. To encourage as many ESM members as possible to participate in the championship and promote internal competition
in each age category.
C. To get ESM members representing the club in larger numbers at specifically targeted local races.
2. Race Categories
There are eight race categories. We’ve called them A-H. You must compete in at least five of them to qualify to win the championship:
A. One Mile: Ealing Mile in Lammas Park; Boston Manor Mile in Boston Manor Park
B. 5K: ESM Monthly 3rd Wednesday; Northala Fields parkrun
C. Yacht Handicap: Pitshanger Park 
D. Five Mile: Dulwich Park; Perivale (Summer League); Perivale 5
E. 10K: Battersea Park, Headstone Manor; Regent’s (Park Summer League); Gunnersbury Park
F. 10K Multi-Terrain: Stockley Park; Osterley Park
G.10 Mile: Cabbage Patch; Ware 10
H. Half Marathon: Ealing Half; Hillingdon Half
3. Period
The competition runs from Dec 26th (Boxing Day races) until the first Sunday in December (Perivale 5) with winners to be announced at the ESM Christmas Dinner. The chosen races may change year-to-year to keep the championship fresh.
4. Winners
Leading Woman
Leading Woman 35+
Leading Woman 45+
Leading Woman 55+
Leading Man
Leading Man 40+
Leading Man 50+
Leading Man 60+
 The age category you are registered against will be your age on 26 December 2014. The overall winners of the championships cannot also win their corresponding age category competition. 
 In the event that no one from a particular age category completes five races, no prizes will be awarded in this category. Although this isn’t going to happen of course!
5. Scoring Rules

The individual score taken from your best performance in each race category.

Runners must compete in a minimum of five of the race categories for eligibility. Their best five races count towards
their final score. 

In the Mile and 5K race (A and B categories) points are awarded for fastest time in the championship year against other ESM runners. This gives you multiple chances to compete and improve your position. The fastest woman and fastest man get one point respectively; second fastest gets two points; third fastest gets three points and so on…

In race categories C-H points are awarded on final finish position against other competing ESM runners. First woman and man get one point respectively; second gets two points etc. Where there is both gun and chip timing it is the chip which determines the points allocation.

You have to finish the race and be registered as an ESM runner for the race in order for the result to count. 

You must run in your club vest or club T-Shirt with the exception of the parkrun.

In the event of any dispute the race administrator’s decision is final.

Good luck, and Godspeed!

Laurence Messer and Darren Leroy