ESM Boxing Day Races – Perivale – Wed 26 Dec 2012

Rob Wilson ran his fastest ever time over this course to retain the trophy by a winning margin of more than four minutes.  Two of ESM’s new kids on the block, Zephon Allen and Rashid Riyad, finished ahead of the older and more experienced runners in the field to come second and third.

In the handicap race, Akira Anzai-Jackson and Hannah Pollak resumed their close rivalry from the 2011 race to take first and second places ahead of Rob, Beverley Packwood and Gabby Corry.  Running with the same handicap as Akira and Hannah, last year’s winner John McKim was unable to find the form he showed at the Perivale 5 where he finished ahead of Akira.  Laurence Messer got a bit of a raw deal because of a miscalculation by the handicapper and should have been given an extra minute for this distance. Handicaps were only allocated to ESM members in the under-20, senior and veteran age groups.

In the short course race, Cameron Thomas, running most of the way with mum Patricia, beat her time of the year before by more than a minute.  Honorary member Jeanne Coker also had a run round the two small laps.

Thanks go to everyone who supported this race which, as regulars will know, was always organised in the past by Mike Barratt.  Particular thanks go to those who kindly donated prizes and to Dorothy and Steve for acting as marshals.

Rob Wilson sets the pace ahead of Rashid Riyad and Zephon Allen